Look! It’s a Book Meme!

Oh look, I’ve found another meme (gee thanks loricat *lol*), and on one of my favorite topics, namely books. So, I figure…what the heck, let’s do it.

Hardback or paperback? It depends on my reading situation and availability. Paperbacks are good for a long ride in a little space. However, hardbacks are good when you’ve a place to stretch.

Amazon or brick and mortar? Though I like Amazon, I’ve to say the latter. The experience of actually going to the bookstore, browsing, and finding something of interest…ahh, yes, and of course that ‘new book smell’. 😛

Barnes & Noble or Borders? Neither…Half-price books can usually beat ’em both (unless I’m wanting something “brand-spanking-new”)

Bookmark or dog-ear? Oh, I try not to do the latter, so bookmark (either homemade or pilfered from my store or library of choice)

Alphabetize by author, alphabetize by title or random? Usually by Author.

Keep, throw away, or sell? Get rid of books? Agghh, even the thought breaks my heart. Though, I am trying to put a few of the no longer used on the market.

Keep dust jacket or toss it? Keep. It’s there for a reason (well, 2): to protect the book, and to look pretty. 😛

Read with dust jacket or remove it? With the jacket….IA on loricat’s meme, the flaps make great bookmarks.

Short story or novel? Novel, I suppose…but I’ve read good short stories, too. And, sometimes, I’m just wanting a brief excursion from reality.

Collection (by same author) or anthology (by different authors)? Collection, usually. The writing style changes with every author added, which can get tedious, and make one wonder why did I bother.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? HP…haven’t really been interested in the latter.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? It all depends how tired I get, but I try to push myself on until a stopping place.

‘It was a dark and stormy night’ or ‘Once upon a time’? This question reminds me of “Throw Momma From The Train”…it’s all in the opening line. *lol*

Buy or Borrow? Both…it depends on the situation (financial, convenience, etc.) So, I utilize it all to get as much reading material as possible.

New or used? Well, considering that I like Half-Price, it goes along with used. However, I wouldn’t turn down a book just because it’s new, either.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? Shopping online, I like to read the reviews/recommendations, in shops it’s usually shop by browsing.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger? Oh, how I’d like to kick an author in the rear when he/she ends with a cliffhanger! Yes, I know some want to emulate real life. But, I enjoy how I can ‘live’ in a fantasy world for a while, then wrap things up and go back to my own life again.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? duh, all three…’nuff said.

Standalone or series?  It depends on the story(ies) and the mood I’m in at the time.

Favourite series?  The Bourne Trilogy offers up some awesome thrill rides in my imagination, mainly because I discovered them at a very early age (after getting the priviledge and staying up one night to watch a late night movie…I was hooked on the storyline.)

tag…you’re all it…show me the meme! 😉

7 responses to “Look! It’s a Book Meme!

  1. It’s a silly question, the ‘morning, afternoon, evening read’ thing. Of course, the answer is “any chance I’ve got!”

    Maybe a better question would be, “do you make lunches that can be eaten one-handed?”
    😉

  2. Or how about “how many books have you read in [specified time]” Sometimes I feel like going and going as the Energizer bunny does. It must be a remnant of reading contests from my youth or something. *lol*
    Thanks for the stop. Hope to see you again soon! 🙂

  3. hey thanks for stopping by! love the book meme!
    (and you should come on back on wednesdays when i have elvis sighting wednesdays!)

  4. Half-Price Books. Amen, amen, amen.

  5. Pingback: Book Meme - Too Much Temptation « Here There and Everywhere

  6. Who are you??? Are you my sister??? Loved the meme!

    TPL responds: As far as I know, technically I’m not…but maybe we’re soul sisters or something. Hi-5! 😀
    PS. Thanks for the comment(s)! I’m touched by them all.

What do you think?

