Fun Monday – Treasures

–this post is brought to you by Windows Live Writer, which I’m finding out is an excellent tool! Thanks go to the Houston Chronicle’s Dwight Silverman for recommending its use. 😀

Time for our semi-regular feature once again – Fun Monday!!

Hostess: Molly of Return of the White Robin

Topic: For this challenge, you have been asked to show us something that hangs on your wall that is fun, interesting, endearing, sentimental, or otherwise enticing. Select the picture of Uncle Horace, Grandma Galt’s needlepoint, or little Susie’s first fingerpainting to show the blogging community.

What an intriguing topic this is! (Oh my, I sound like Yoda from Star Wars) I can be very sentimental at times, however this topic is not as easy for me…I’ve had a hard time thinking of which things to pick! 😛

–Insert break as I decide which item will be showcased first–

First, we have a ceramic doll passed on from my grandmother.

ceramicdoll

I’m not sure from where she comes, but she sort of reminds me of a Little House/Dr.Quinn (1800’s) pretty [young] lady.

Second, we have one side of an autographed baseball.

baseball

The ball has signatures of the ‘86 Houston Astros baseball players. On this side, signatures included are Jose Cruz, Kevin Bass, Larry Andersen, Craig Reynolds and Alan Ashby.  Let’s hear it for orange rainbow shirt ‘Stros! Yay.

And third, this picture is of Dan, a bear that just needs a hug…

danbear

All together now: “Awwww….” He was given to me at a carnival by a high school [guy] friend, because he knew I liked stuffed animals. How sweet.

And, finally, we have a one-of-a-kind original – a watercolor painting.

h2ocolorpic

This flower pot painting was painted by an artistic friend of mine from my college days. She and I were good friends…and, I’ve her to thank for still remembering the Greek Alphabet during my sorority pledge week (makes me laugh just thinking of it!). I miss her and her kids terribly, and looking at the picture helps me remember the good times shared. The last time we talked, she tried to set me up with a guy friend (formally, to show him around town), but I lost my email and connection the next day. When I got it back, it was all gone. It still saddens me to think of the possibilities, and hope she doesn’t hate me for all the trouble (that’s my middle name – you know – or so it appears). Anyway, I wonder what they’re all up to these days – if she’s still with the same guy…if the kids have gotten married, etc. Typical stuff – LOL. Extra tidbit: her daughter narrowly missed being on that fatal flight in New York on 9/11. Yikes! My heart and prayers continue to go out to them, wherever they may roam.

That’s it for the moment…I hope you enjoyed this mini-tour through my stuff today. Adieu! 😀

11 responses to “Fun Monday – Treasures

  1. I am trying to learn to watercolor — I sometimes wish I would have gone with acrylics or oil ( I guess one could do them all… but who has time for even one)
    lovely picture.
    oh the doll. HOw wonderful. My sis in law had a huge ceramic doll that belonged to her grandmother – and she sold it. what a tragedy.
    ps. {{{{hugs for dan}}}}

    TPL responds: Watercolors are wonderful, eh…they look so simple, until you try to paint one (w/o using ‘paint by numbers’ *lol*)
    PS. You’ve made Dan happy. I can see it all over its face. 😉

  2. Pear Lady,
    I love what you have included for this Fun Monday. Each item is grand in itself, but your memories make your selections even more special. As for your friend, your paths will probalby cross again. Thanks for playing this Fun Monday. Take care.

    TPL responds: It’s good to be a packrat sometimes…haha.

  3. Love your stuff for Fun Monday! 🙂 I have a weakness for dolls and bears.

    TPL responds: me, too…well, I wouldn’t call it a weakness, more an affinity. 🙂

  4. That doll is beautiful. Things passed down seem to be the most valuable treasures for me.

  5. I love your collection, the doll is beautiful and I could hug your bear anytime. I’m not very knowledgeable about baseball but I guess htey are really well known players!! The flower painting is really sweet and what a pity you cannot get back in touch with your friend and pick up where you left off.
    TPL responds: I do get the urge to go try and find out, but…well, I’m not sure just yet. It’s harder to go back – scarier, too. The bear could use the hugs, it hasn’t appeared to get many from me lately (only because it’s showcased…*lol*). As for the players, yeah…good guys (handsome at the time, too – yummy!).

  6. Okay – I’m going to come steal your baseball! I amm a former resident of Houston – graduated high school in 1986, and that was the last year my dad took me to an Astro’s game. (I used to live in the Astrodome during football and baseball seasons.)
    Is Nolan Ryan on there? I am SO impressed.

    TPL responds: Well, if you’re good, I might let you SEE it personally, but don’t push it. *lol* And, yes…of course he is, on the side with the current manager, ole’ “Scrap Iron” Garner. 🙂 Luv ya blue! 😉

  7. Lovely collection. I like the watercolour the best. It is hard to go back but you never know, she too may be wondering what happened to you.

  8. Awwww indeed. The bear is a cutey. Great Fun Monday finds!

  9. This is a really great collection. Don’t let Tiggerlane steal you baseball, I deserve it much more than she does!!

  10. Your tulip water colour is gorgeous.

  11. Go Tigers! Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

    Love the doll!

What do you think?

