Exercising my poetic license again

I had no real plans to blog today, and I’m not sure why I am, other than I’ve felt compelled. Then again, is there other reason that one blogs? Hmm. Anyway, Robin at the Pensieve called us out by email to write again.  However, when I read the task, a bit of nausea overtook me as it appeared a daunting task. She asked:

I want you to write about something you love.  The catch?  Instead of writing an expected love sonnet (i.e., about your spouse or babies or faith) I thought it’d be fun to write about a quirky-kind-of-love, paying tribute to something that could be characterized as your “precious”

I’ve to admit, that makes me smirk, or maybe it’s just imagining a certain Lord of the Rings character again. Creepy and silly at the same time, it is.  Anyway… Here we go.

I am once again, exercising my license to write:
 
Want this button?

*waits while the cat coughs up a hairball* Okay, all done.
~~

My Buddy – My Blog

My blog is all I have to show
That’s plain to see
I wrap it with a big red bow
As a gift for you from me

I don’t know why I’m here sometimes
As seen throughout this blog
But, still I pursue with these rhymes
Once started, it’s like falling off a log

Where will this end, I shudder to think
Oh crap, my thought bubble’s been thrown down the sink!
Into the drain I dive, my thoughts I must get
But, suddenly, I remember, I care narry a wit.

(Oh well, happy valentine’s day, anyway.)
~~

Okay, perhaps a blog isn’t quirky enough or whatever, but remember there are no rules. Neener-Neener. *sticks tongue out and tosses raspberries*. Though, I do love it much like my own child. Well, that is when I’ve nothing better to do. (ha-ha)
If you wish to see more quirky love poetry, do drop by Robin’s place. And, of course, you’re welcome to leave a comment on mine here, too.
I’ve to go now. Happy Valentine’s Day (or as one of my blog friends says, Happy VD day!).

Sliced by The Pear Lady

Technorati Tags: ,

View a Random Slice
All Poetry presented c2008 ThePearLady, not intended for re-distribution without my written permission, etc. (blah.blah.blah)
Smilies by MazeGuy

9 responses to “Exercising my poetic license again

  1. Are you mocking me? ARE YOU MOCKING ME???!!!

    🙂

    Hey, I’m glad to motivate you to post something whether your’re blowing raspberries at me or not. Imagine that…blogging causing you to wax poetic (I love it!!).

    Thanks for joining in–your poem here made me smile over and over again.

    (and you’re totally right–I mean it when I say “No rules, just write”!!!)

    🙂

    Happy VD!

    TPL responds: I really had intended to skip this one, thinking I’d never get something in time, etc. However, this little ditty literally jumped out of my brain. So scary. Thanks for the kick in the butt, erm, I mean dear invite to write [again]. 😀

  2. I wish I were a talented poet like you, Pear Lady.

    TPL responds: And, I wished I worked for local paper like you. 🙂

  3. Ha! I think a love of the blog is quirky enough! Even if, at times, we do care narry a wit!

  4. How did you come up with that when you had no ideas. I had lots of ideas…still couldn’t do it!

  5. Lovely poem with blog on mind. Blog on! 😀

  6. @ Karmyn: Indeed. And, at times, I do feel quit “witless” trying to write an entry, too.

    @ Min: It literally just jumped in my head like a light bulb above my head. Truly freaky.

    @Junebug: Thanks. I shall do my best to do that very thing! 🙂

  7. what a fun read!

    TPL responds: Thank you! 😀

  8. Hey, that’s a pretty snazzy poem you made there!

    TPL responds: aww, shucks. Thank you, thank you very much. 😀

  9. Pingback: Weekend poetry session « Slices from the PearLady

What do you think?

