Take me out the ball game

The smell of Astroturf is in the slightly chilled Spring air!

My baseball card of Adam Cowart in his Augusta uniform It’s time once again to check in with my favorite minor league baseball player,  pitcher Adam Cowart. When we last left him, he had just helped the San Jose Giants (Single A advanced minor league team of the SF Giants organization) win the California League championship with his awesome skills. Now, he’s in the midst of preparing for a new year at the minor league’s version of spring training. In twenty-eight days, the new season will officially begin. Look here, there’s a picture of him in action.  Check out that sidearm delivery (he explained why he has that style in a recent interview). Anyway, according to the MiLB.com web site, today he’s even in Texas at an exhibition game! Unfortunately, it’s still a bit too far for traveling for me at this short notice. But, he’s definitely on my mind and in my thoughts*. My mind can even picture him as he attempts to throw the balls past his opponents with a ferocious fervor (and his hoping they don’t connect those balls with their bats). He recently described how it’s all come to be this past February by SJ radio personality, Joe Ritzo.
[link to interview]
It may only be a text interview, but my mind can easily see and hear him talking through the screen. I see the respect for the interviewer and the game, and hear the excitement (for where he is, the past, and of the future). One of the more poignant points of the interview sums it up pretty well. He’s asked to comment on the possibility of pitching in relief versus being a starting pitcher. He answers:

I will do whatever they tell me to do if they keep giving me a uniform, honestly. If they say it’s relieving, then I’ll be a reliever. If it’s starting, then I’ll take the ball every five days. It depends on what they want me to be. And actually, I was talking to one of the pitching coaches the other day about this. He said, “you know what, everyone’s job out here is to get people out. Just keep doing that and don’t worry about everything else.” That’s the approach I’m taking.” ~ Adam Cowart, excerpt from SJ interview

I can see his family, especially his dad, with beaming smiles through this statement. Though, I hope to do more than imagine all this one day (ideal situation would be in a major local stadium!), I’m thankful to the Internet for the latest tidbits.

*Side note: FYI, my thoughts do include warm feelings toward the rest of his family, too, including his dear brother, for which I like to echo the phrase: “Hubba-hubba” when describing him. How can one not like/think certain thoughts of such a cute, smart, and sweet guy?  Okay, let’s put the air conditioner on high, and I shall tell myself to “be cool”. 😉
~~
In other local sports news… After reading an entry on bizarre athletic superstitions (particularly #6 – Whoa, Mo! That’s definitely TMTH! (Too Hot to Handle) LOL). I wonder what Adam does that may be superstitious, when things are going well, like during those championship runs. I’m also wondering if the Houston Rockets are doing anything “superstitious” to keep their winning streak alive. I know, from my fan’s prospective, I find myself having similar patterns when they have another game (as if I might actually responsible – Very silly of me, I know LOL). It’s amazing and amuses me what we humans sometimes do just to maintain a good time. [Question to audience: do you have any superstitions? Do tell in the comments.]
Until later…stay cool, people. For me, I think I may take that literally. *wry smile*

Sliced by The Pear Lady

View a Random Slice

What do you think?

