It’s time for the letter of the day

nbpm_apr08_grass.gif
Oscar the Grouch comes over from Sesame Street and announces:
“The letter of the day is… *drum roll*… G!”
Oscar and his trash can are important to this post for what starts with the letter G.

G is for… Going Green. And, how perfect is that for a Pear Lady? (note: all the green color around this blog – I even became a green M&M last year – LOL.)
A big project about to open up down here in Houston is Discovery Green. It’s been hyped on all the news channels (because of the upcoming opening on April 13th), but the neat thing about it – it looks really cool. It looks inviting with the playground, kids (and kids at heart *wink*) frolicking in the fountains, the amphitheater for shows (I already like the current Miller Outdoor Theatre, so this is intriguing, too). and restaurants, of course, for one has to eat. I’m totally psyched to see it, maybe even on opening day. We’ll see what happens on that note.
I’m always thinking what else I can do to “Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle”. I do recycle my newspaper and bottles. I’ve gotten others to recycle those items as well. It doesn’t seem to be much to me, but I figure every little bit helps. Plus, it’s good exercise, and I can certainly use all I can get (so, I can afford to eat chocolate – LOL). It appears with Spring and the sunny atmosphere here, everyone’s trying to get into the green spirit lately. For instance, a local news station has a bunch of ideas of how to “go green”, too. On YouTube, this video shows a cute way to get the family recycling together. Although, I think I’m partial to how Ms. Rabble does it in Ms. Rabble:EcoSchmeco by recycling ex-boyfriends (cartoon voiced by Victoria Jackson from Saturday Night Live). 😀
But, I have to admit, it’s all an overwhelming challenge. I think that’s maybe why I’ve not done more. Well, the immediate cost of change doesn’t help matters, either. Yes, I know…think long term, I should. But, one step at a time. Oh mercy, I’m beginning to sound like an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting or something. So, I think it’s time to stop. *looks around at the sighs of relief from the crowd* Perhaps, I shall revisit this topic later. Again, we’ll see.

*narrator’s voice booms* This post is brought to you in honor of the current theme at  Nablopomo [link: Blogrolls /April] for more information).
Thank you and remember the three R’s. Oh, and watch out for Oscar as you throw things away. We don’t want to make him grumpier, or do we? 😀

Sliced by The Pear Lady

View a Random Slice

What do you think?

