BTT: all about the flavor

Hey world…I’m blogging and I’m not gonna take it anymore. Okay, even I’m not sure what that means. Perhaps, I’m paraphrasing a movie quote again – very, very badly. 😛

Anyway, I’m going back to one of my favorite memes. Even though it’s not my most popular post, it’s a neat personal challenge for me.

btt26
The BTT question this week is:

Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that makes you love them above all the other authors you’ve read? The stories? The characters? The way they appear to relish the taste of words on the tongue? The way they’re unafraid to show the nitty-gritty of life? How they sweep you off to a new, distant place? What is it about those books and authors that makes them resonate with you in ways that other, perfectly good books and authors do not?

I love a book that is fuel for my imagination. When a book can help me draw a mental picture (with my imagination, I don’t need much help sometimes – LOL), I’m not only likely to read it, but read it over and over again just to have those feelings / trip to imagine-land again. From the main character to the best friends, to the love interest(s), how they’re each constructed with the background and interact with their surrounding environment is important. It really is a natural high and can be quite addictive.
And, I love a great beginning. If a book’s title pops, I do an almost immediate 180 degree turn getting to it. Then, if the opening paragraphs entice me to read more, I have to have it. Of course, I like a happily-ever-after ending, too, if only to fuel my own hope within my own life and those people of which I interact. In summary, I thoroughly appreciate books that get me involved with the story, even if it means I feel like throwing it across the room occasionally. 😀

So, what do I not like? Politics, historical, and biographies have to work extra hard to get my attention and keep it. It’s not to say I won’t read these types of books, if certain authors that write these types of genres make it relate to what I know or would like to know. An example is my recent fascination with U.S. democratic candidate Barack Obama’s books, which I highly recommend to read, if for no other reason than to debunk the ghastly rumors. 😉

If you’d like to answer the question, or just have a desire to see more, visit BTT (linked above). And, of course, you’re welcome to comment on my own answer/make one of your own, etc. here as well. TTFN!

Sliced by The Pear Lady

 

2 responses to “BTT: all about the flavor

  1. I’m a reader. I go ape shit bananas if I do not have something to read in the house.

    TPL responds: *imagines you covered in ape shit* Eeewwww…. *quickly gets out the hose and sprays everywhere* 😉

  2. How often do you yourself play basball and what position, or do you just write about it?

    Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive that this blog is syndicated through Google and is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

    Baseball greats you should write about next!

    TPL responds: I’m a fan of several sports, especially baseball. Oh, I wish I had the talent to play professionally ~ that could be cool. What? I’m in the news? Well, aren’t I just spaaaycial. Ha-ha. Only kidding, it’s Google analytics. Thanks for the kind words. I’m not sure where my blog pen will take me, but I’ll take the suggestion under advisement. 🙂

What do you think?

