What Do Your Books Say About You?

Well, what do you know, I found a really compelling topic of which to blog. No surprise really what — it’s about books! Thanks to an addictive little club called TNBBC (The Next Best Book Club), I’ve found another way to feed my addiction to books. And, I have an overflowing To-Be-Read list to prove it! Anyway, I mention it mainly because it is directly related to the title of this entry, and where I received the idea.

Here’s the challenge:
1. Go to your bookshelves…
2. Close your eyes. If you’re feeling really committed, blindfold yourself.
3. Select ten* books at random. Use more than one bookcase, if you have them, or piles by the bed, or… basically, wherever you keep books.
4. Use these books to tell us about yourself – where and when you got them, who got them for you, what the book says about you, etc. etc…..
5. Have fun! Be imaginative. Doesn’t matter if you’ve read them or not – be creative. It might not seem easy to start off with, and the links might be a little tenuous, but I think this is a fun way to do this sort of meme.
6. Feel free to cheat a bit, if you need to…

*I agree ten is a bit much to reveal here without boring you all to tears, so I’ll take five books. That’ll be my “cheat”. Plus, it works out that the shelves of which I’m picking are five shelves high — it’s kismet. Feel free to take up this same challenge by making a list of your own. Just don’t forget to show me what you done. I love another opportunity to add to my reading list, too! 😉

~~
From the top shelf, I grabbed:

The Lost World by Michael Crichton

Yes, I do like some science-fiction, and this sequel to Jurassic Park is delightful to read. I received it as a gift one year a while ago, and it’s been one of my favorite books to just pick up and read. Another reason it could be a favorite is because of the focus on the character Malcom, whom I like on and off-screen (even if he is a sanctimonious jerk at times – LOL).

~~~
From the second shelf, I grabbed:

Taltos by Anne Rice

This book was my introduction to the author, Anne Rice. I received this book a long time ago, I vaguely recall on the recommendation of a friend’s review. It was so intense of a read at the time, and I think it still is. IF it compares to any vampires of today, they’d be like the bad ones on HBO. These vampires do not “sparkle” as in the Twilight series. This book is for the more serious, perhaps mature, reader.

~~~
From the third shelf, I grabbed:
The Insiders by Rosemary Rogers

I found this book years ago in a relative’s book stash, of sorts, and used to carry it around with me. It sounded “grown-up” and intriguing to me at the time. The book does do with somewhat violent topics, because one of the characters is a masochist sister that loves orgies. (Oh my!) The book is still on my to be read list, for I never seem to have time to get to it. One day…

~~~
From the fourth shelf, I grabbed:
Another Tassel Is Moved Guidelines for College Graduates by Louis A. Caldwell

This book was one of the graduation gifts from my school, and it’s been a nice “parting gift”. It offers both spiritual and practical advice, emphasis on the spiritual, and confidence helpers to guide one throughout the different avenues taken on our life’s journey. I pick it up off and on, depending on need and my mood at the time for comfort.

~~
And, finally, from the fifth shelf, I grabbed:
The Final Diagnosis by Arthur Hailey

I picked up this book “abused and battered” from a sale somewhere (I’m not sure where, anymore). It’s medical drama at it’s finest, about a hospital in Pennsylvania. It’s a fairly quick read to me, and I pick it up when I’m in the mood for a good medical rerun and er isn’t on tv someplace. ;D

Well, that’s what I’ve found on my shelves today. I hope you’ve enjoyed the journey, and if it has encouraged you to read any of the above, that’s a double bonus. See you in the virtual library stacks!
Sliced by The Pear Lady

One response to “What Do Your Books Say About You?

  1. Whoot whoot! Thanks for the shout out in your blog, and for keeping the post going 🙂 I love what your books mean to you!!

What do you think?

