Fall Into Blogging–Day 1

Any passersby to my blog can tell I’m almost constantly trying to get back into blogging again, and I’m not much for the daily thing (aside from those 30 day challenges that drove me more batty, if that’s possible. LOL). Anyway, trying something not so big this time, complements if the S.I.T.S. girls.

Fall Into Blogging
Day 1 Writing Prompt:

Whether you have kids or not, we’re sure you have a great school story that you haven’t shared. It might be a teacher who inspired you, a disastrously funny moment, or getting your first kiss by the lockers before 4th period Geometry class – we want to read your best school memory.

Just one? Well, I suppose I could choose this:

–the first time I stepped out on the football field to march for a contest in ninth grade. Talk about having nerves! Although, it was more of a nervous excitement. I first stepped out on the ball field with my instrument, hardly looking around (until afterward because I was concentrating on remembering everything). From wearing clunky white shoes (so one could see our beautiful roll steps of which I do to this day), to the large white plumes atop our heads (affectionately known has chickens), we ruled the field for ten minutes of eye-popping marching routines. Yes, eye-popping…we had a reputation that preceded my time in the band – a Pride with a capital “P” to not only be the best, but to show the best to past, present and future of the school. (Yes, I know…intense…but really fun). I have loved marching band with a passion since before this moment and probably until the grave. If anyone would like to experience a fraction (without the tortuous practices or worry of having any musical ability), I recommend reading a book called Notes from an Accidental Band Geek and a blog entry by one of my fellow band alumni, Bundles of Joy – Thank you Mr. Fariss, for both express some of which I’m not saying well here. 😄

On that note, I’m rapping up for this entry. Hope some of that makes sense. I sometimes tend to get tongue-tied when I’m really excited about a subject.
Until next post….Tootles.Winking smile

3 responses to “Fall Into Blogging–Day 1

  1. I remember those days! My husband and I were both band geeks and now have three band geeks in our home… maybe a fourth but he is only 8 right now. LOL My husband is even a BAND DIRECTOR! What great memories band brings for so many. Marching season is hard work but SO much fun! Thanks for sharing your memory with us! 🙂

  2. Love this post. I was in band in high school and I find myself doing those “roll” steps also. And at times, I feel the need to make a very “sharp” turn.
    I just came over from SITS! Have a great week!

  3. Stopping by from SITS – Yes, my band experience was not one of my favorite school experiences! 😉 – Thanks for stopping by 😉

What do you think?

