A Life of Ruts, Poetry, and Music to Soothe the Soul

Sometimes I feel like my mind is gone.
I do a task; it helps a bit.
Then, I realize there’s more to do.
Oh, geez…overwhelming thoughts.
Games amuse me, if only slightly.
Reading comforts, for it’s another good escape.
But, can’t escape forever, tasks beckon again.
How can I get it all done? Sighs deeply.
Yet, I hope:
…for improvement
…for wealth
…for something
…for whatever need of the moment.
Is it silly? Perhaps. Selfish? Probably.
There’s an old religious saying: God only gives us as much as we can handle.
But, sometimes I wonder why the burden has to be so great.
Here my pensive thoughts lead to sadness again… we can’t have that for long.

[flips record]

A quote I from a book I recently read revolves in my head:
Maybe life is nothing but ruts. Comfortable ruts–when things are going well. Jarring ruts–when things go wrong. I don’t know. We sort of settle in and feel content with the familiar–even when the familiar is not what we want in life. Are we really fearful of change?” ~The Matchmakers by Janette Oke

Time to shake things up…I’m going to shake it out.
spotify:track:4lY95OMGb9WxP6IYut64ir
What rut are you in at the moment? And, how can we use it for something good?

What do you think?

