Houston means that I’m one day closer to baseball

Okay, yes the header is a weird play on a song, but it means it’s time to talk Houston Astros, no matter how much of a disappointment it can be when they lose. Maybe it will be better to move to the American League (still don’t relish that move).

Anyway…
The new list of Twitter handles for Astros’ players has just been posted via Ms. Footer’s blog. The –cough, cough– rebuilding of the team has brought a new crop of rookies and new guys into the mix. So, I think it’s a good time to go through the nicknames again.

Chris Johnson – he’s still CJ, though not-so-secretly Cutie –giggles like a schoolgirl–

Brian Bogusevic – This is Bogie (which while it makes sense for his name, the nickname still reminds me of Tim Bogar, but it’s growing on me)

Bud Norris – I don’t really have one for him, though we could call him up&down, for one time he pitches well, and the next time he’s down again. :-/

Matt Downs – His handle is downstown16 ; I think of him as Downtown (where hopefully he’ll keep hitting his balls – [homeruns, that is])

Jordan Schafer – another new face to me; maybe a future leader when they put him on top in the lineup; right now, he’s just shafe to me.

Jordan Lyles – the phenom; Astros had to move others to make room for him in the lineup again; hope he proves it’s worth it ❤

J.D Martinez – seems one can usually count on him for a big hit to keep things going; swinger? nah…sounds dirty; and saying JD reminds me of one of the Astros’ tv announcers, but it will have to do for now.

Jason Castro – I’m not sure what to call him other than Catcherman, either but I home he’s like the Comeback kid now that he’s back in the lineup

Lucas Harrell – another new face; could yell Looooooooocas! in the stands until something else comes along

Carlos Lee – he’s still Mr.Lee to me, though officially this is el Caballo

Wesley Wright – I don’t remember what Wes was being called, though we all hope he has the Wright stuff when he pitches; he’s dub-dub to me (from the initials, of course).

That’s all on this addition. (Only covering the ones connected to Twitter here)

Whatever they’re all called, the one thing I’d really want to call them is a Winning Team…we’ll see if we can get that out of them one day. Hopefully, before the season is over. Sigh. Go ‘Stros! Open-mouthed smile

3 responses to “Houston means that I’m one day closer to baseball

  1. So, being a Houstonian and that it’s a Saturday Sharefest day, I had to stop over! Do we still have a baseball team??

  2. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in reality was a leisure account it.
    Look complicated to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

What do you think?